⇱ back

room journal

july 6, 2024

i don't think i'm going to link to this page from anywhere, at least right now. if people happen upon it via the neocities dashboard, though, that's fine.

i've been thinking a lot about the little mini room vlogs i see on instagram, and thinking a little about the period of time in late 2019 where, in an effort to not feel as miserable as i often did then, i would record tiny little videos of my day to get myself up and out of the house on non-work-days and then i'd put them on tiktok. i did a similar thing maybe a year and a half ago, but i didn't edit together those videos or put them anywhere. a lot of why i've been thinking about it is this: i have just achieved job stability after quite a while now of no stable income, and i would like to give myself a chance to see what this tiny apartment i've been in for the last year could be when i have the money/time/space in my brain to finish getting it set up. living spaces are complicated for me, though, and i have a hard time settling in, even on top of the general issues of executive dysfunction around getting tasks done and the guilt of ie spending money or asking friends to help me move furniture. also, this apartment really is tiny. like ~250 square feet tiny. also also, i have a recently (last yearish) much worse bug phobia that often directly impacts choices i make about my living space. anyway, all that to say: maybe making little videos would be good for me? i could pull out my old digital camera, film them on there. but figuring out which box the camera is in sounds exhausting, and i also kind of don't want to show my space. i don't know. i'm going to try out this little room journal, to document and hopefully keep myself moving. i can't do much yet, because the job situation just changed, but hopefully soon. i want to see what i can make this place into. i want to force myself to settle in and do something nice for myself. writing this will be complicated by my own protection of my privacy and desire not to share some things, though, i don't know. maybe posting little things to my private instagram would be better than this, but i mostly just use instagram to share resources to my story lately.

some initial plans:
☆ replace cat's second litter box with another big one
☆ two prints i've wanted for ages for the wall by the bathroom
☆ little desk to work from on the couch because i've accepted that i just don't have room to use either of my desks as desks at this point
☆ blender
☆ some sort of console table to squeeze behind the couch.
☆ cooking pan
☆ more scratching things for the cat
☆ clean off the desk in the main room so it can be a space for the cat, too

an animated gif of a dog and a cat curled up and sleeping together on a pillow

directory:

some background images from texture town. the repeating background image of a wall is from me. gifs from gifcities. hand-coded with love by violet.